Endocrinology ~ Thyroid

The May 5th Medical Edge Radio program featured Dr. Bryan McIver talking about thyroid issues.   From thyroid nodules to thyroid cancer, hypothyroidism or hyperthyroidism, the tiny thyroid can bring on big changes if it starts to lose function.

AUDIO from show:
Interview with Dr. Johnson, part of the Mayo Clinic On Everest team

Medical edge Weekend 5-5-12

SOCIAL MEDIA:
Check out our Facebook feed for “Medical edge Weekend – Thyroid” show

Check out our Twitter feed from “Medical edge Weekend – Thyroid”

15 Comments

  1. Posted May 1, 2012 at 8:06 pm | Permalink

    I am very interested in learning more about my thyroid

  2. Posted May 1, 2012 at 8:14 pm | Permalink

    What is the correct level–I think every Doctor has a different one.

  3. AV
    Posted May 1, 2012 at 8:32 pm | Permalink

    33 y/o, 8 years suffering from Graves disease ( on and off) after my first miscarriage. PTU had elevate my liver enzymes, wanted to go through IVF, but my thyroid levels are out of control again. My endocrinologist suggests surgery and then IVF.

  4. bonnie
    Posted May 1, 2012 at 9:33 pm | Permalink

    I had a parathyroidectomy about 10 yrs ago. Left lower nodule had a tumor growth on it. Had that tumor removed. What I am curious about could another tumor grow on that parathyroid? My family has a history of thyroid problems. How often should I have labs done? I am presently on no meds and I am 54 yrs. old.

  5. Joy McCary
    Posted May 1, 2012 at 9:33 pm | Permalink

    I have reoccurring left side stroke like symptoms for the past 3yrs. Every test dome possible all normal except the TPO which has been as high as over 2,500, when the thyroid was removed. Now the highest so far has been 670, causing the left to be totally paralysised until I am give IV steroids then everything is back to normal..Daily steroids dont help stop the flare ups. The doctors are looking at doing plasma infusion. Any direction that you can point me to, to get this under control so that I can get back to my life would be greatly appreciated

    • Becky Wright
      Posted May 1, 2012 at 10:12 pm | Permalink

      I have a tumor on my thyroid, biopsy of it was benign but I can feel it when I swallow. Found out I have hypothyroidism. Started on synthroid, labs are now normal since taking med. I have put on 10 pounds in a short amount of time and haven’t changed my diet and was wondering if it could be related to thyroid even though labs are now normal on meds.

  6. TRACY B
    Posted May 1, 2012 at 10:19 pm | Permalink

    Could U suggest a collegue @ Mayo or @ The Jefferson University Hospital, in Phila., Pa. that can offer some clarity & alternatives 2 treatment of stomach cancer? Thanks in advance.

  7. Luis
    Posted May 2, 2012 at 1:56 am | Permalink

    What’s your opinion of sites like Stop The Thyroid Madness(www.stopthethyroidmadness.com), is there really a cure for hypothyroidism?

  8. Julie Beck
    Posted May 2, 2012 at 6:03 am | Permalink

    Age 49 yr old female with Total thyroidectomy (97% removed) at Mayos 1999 with radio iodine ablation following for total removal. Pappillary thyroid cancer in both lobes. No other involvement. Research is minimal about life expectancy and very vague. My own Dr vague. I’ve heard that it is so slow growing that people in their 80’s may have had it for 30-40 yrs and it was not the actual cause of death. Planning to live to play with my grandson for a very long time and maybe to outlive my Endocrinologist.
    J Beck

  9. Jeanne Helvey
    Posted May 2, 2012 at 6:57 am | Permalink

    I’ve had hypothyroidism for about 12 years. My numbers have never remained stable for over a year in which the synthroid dosage is always increased. I’m on 137 mcg now. Is there a point at which it’s better to have the thyroid removed?

  10. Anna
    Posted May 2, 2012 at 8:45 am | Permalink

    I recently had a benign result on a couple of thyroid nodules, at Mayo Rochester. Like one of the other posters, I am also interested in Mayo’s current target range for TSH levels. When I followed up with local Endocrinologist she said the goal is 2.0 to 2.5. However, she wanted to wait another 3 months to increase Synthroid dosage even though I was at 4.3. Fortunately I found a new primary care physician familiar with thyroids since she fights her own battle with it. She increased me to 50 mcg and within a week I felt better than I have in nearly a year! Why such variation among Endocrinolgists in target levels? And how long between dosage adjustments?

  11. Posted May 2, 2012 at 12:37 pm | Permalink

    Do you believe in the typical standard thyroid blood tests for identifying thyroid issues? For example, many thyroid knowledgeable doctors have come to conclusion that TSH is an unreliable method. Many if not most doctors believe that a TSH of 5 or below is considered normal when in fact people are suffering from thyroid issues with a TSH even as low as 2.

    With the early work of Dr. Broda Barnes, hypothyroidism was thought to be an epidemic in the 1940s and different tests were used to diagnose it such as pulse and temperature. Do you believe that those tests can used as an indicator of thyroid health?

    Many Doctors prescribe only T4 (thyroxine) as a treatment for hypothyroidism. Many people, especially women seem to have trouble converting T4 into active thyroid hormone (T3). Taking a glandular with both T4 and T3 or adding some additional T3 seem to work better for some. What are your methods of treating people with hypothyroidism?

  12. Posted May 2, 2012 at 1:51 pm | Permalink

    With our ongoing problems of chronic disease and obesity, high cholesterol has become a problem for many. Statins are typically recommended and have been dealt out like candy to people – often causing horrendous side effects. Research has shown to prove that high cholesterol is often a sign of hypothyroidism since thyroid, with vitamin A helps to convert cholesterol into the body’s steroidal hormones. Why is hypothyroidism so often overlooked when people test high for cholesterol? Wouldn’t treating it more naturally with thyroid be a much better option since it tackles the cause at the root rather than treating a number with a statin which does not?

  13. NM
    Posted May 3, 2012 at 3:41 pm | Permalink

    30 year old female with graves disease and hyperthyroidism; diagnosed 5 years ago. The bulging effect of the eyes occurred over a span of less than 2 yrs. Has affected self-esteem and continuously posed psychological challenges which included suicidal thoughts during the first 2 years. Is there hope from a surgery/medical perspective?

  14. Molly Ford
    Posted May 4, 2012 at 7:07 am | Permalink

    I have been living with Thyroid Disesase for 13 years. I started with on goiter & now have 3! I also started as Hyper but then became Hyper on one side & Hypo on the other side! Is that very common? My Dr. wants to remove the nodules but I don’t, is it riskier for me not to since I’ve done ok just taking medication?
    Thank You!


