e-Patient Dave and Dr. Victor Montori on Patient Empowerment

This Medical Edge Weekend program features patient activist Dave DeBronkart, a.k.a. “e-Patient Dave“, and Mayo Clinic endocrinologist Dr. Victor Montori on patient empowerment. For more background, see the Wikipedia entries on Dave DeBronkart and Dr. Montori. Dave is also the author of a forthcoming book, and Dr. Montori is a pioneer in the concept of Minimally Disruptive Medicine.

For background, here’s a video clip of Dr. Montori talking about how stopping clinical trials early can exaggerate treatment effects, from Mayo Clinic’s YouTube channel. And here is a video of Dr. Montori describing minimally disruptive medicine:

And here’s an address by Dave DeBronkart about Patient Empowerment from a conference last year:

Medical EdgeWeelend 5-08-10

2 Comments

  1. Posted May 2, 2010 at 6:49 am | Permalink

    Victor,

    Huzzah, huzzah, huzzah! Who let YOU out of the attic to talk about medicine in such a sensible and practical way???

    I can’t wait to meet you! And talk about what will be possible when all of healthcare is so sensible.

  2. Posted May 5, 2010 at 2:04 pm | Permalink

    I would welcome the opportunity of sharing my 25+ years of insights on Crohn’s Disease and Managing Chronic Illness on an upcoming Mayo Clinic Radio Show. In 2001, I wrote a critically acclaimed Book about my experiences entitled “Confessions of a Professional Hospital Patient” which landed me on NBC’s “Today Show” and during that time and ever since I have appeared on many Radio and TV shows talking about Crohn’s Disease, Health Care and Coping/Managing strategies. I have been told that my Book and my Advice has helped patients and their families all over the world. I presently operate http://www.hospitalpatient.com, my Twitter Profile is located at http://twitter.com/HospitalPatient and have begun to produce SHORT Videos about Chronic Illness/Crohn’s Disease issues at http://www.youtube.com/healthcarereality.

    Thank you for the consideration.


